Deanery Synod

Who are we?

Clergy and lay representatives of all the parishes (just under 30) within the Deanery of Nottingham South.  Lay members are elected at the Annual General General Meeting of each parish for three year terms in the appropriate year.

Who are we for?

We are part of the synodical structure of the Church of England ‘Episcopally led and Synodically governed’ – the tier between ‘Parishes and PCC’s’ and ‘Southwell and Nottingham Diocesan Synod’.

What do we do?

The mission focus of the deanery is on: serving the local community/social action partnership; the ministry of welcome; worship in a mission context; spiritual vitality; collaborative leadership development; equipping Christians for mission; working on outreach to church leavers and those searching for spirituality, teenagers and men.

When and where do we meet? 

We meet 3 or 4 times a year in parish churches or halls within the Deanery.

Name of leaders/contact information:

The Revd Colin Bourne (Area Dean) Tel: (0115) 946 2357

Colin Bourne






Kirsty Cowley (Deanery Administrator)  Tel: 07708 140207

Kirsty Cowley